Our Mission

The Little Rock Sister Cities Commission was established by Little Rock Ordinance 16,306. Its thirteen (13) members serve five (5)-year terms. The duties of the Commission are to develop guidelines and programs for Sister City relationships with other cities around the globe to further public awareness of communities throughout the world, emphasizing such things as cultural, historical and economic aspects of the City’s adopted Sister Cities.

In addition to these core activities, the Commission is working on three (3) key initiatives with our Sister City partners:

  • Economic Development:  Economic Development is a vital activity for both the City of Little Rock and its Sister Cities. Using our long established relationships to create and encourage economic exchange is a natural fit and an important goal of the Commission.
  • Effective Communications:  Keeping the Citizens of Little Rock informed of the commission’s activities is the key for all to understand how the Commission is contributing to the advancement of the City of Little Rock and its Citizens. We will be utilizing technology and special events to keep all informed.
  • Youth Leadership Program:  The Commission, along with the Little Rock Sister Cities Foundation, supports the Mayor’s Youth Leadership program, and helps facilitate this important international exchange.

Our overall goal is to have more citizens informed and involved in the various activities of the commission. As you learn more and want to be involved or have questions please contact us through the Contact Us page of the website.